68 replies to this topic

#1 Flying Hooves

Flying Hooves

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 52 posts

Posted 19 February 2009 - 01:06 AM

Always impressed by a forum that is open about these issues :1233_hand_clapping: Thank you Heidi.

Hello Everyone,

Those of you that do not know me, my name is Lisa Tucker. I am a researcher as well as a breeder.

For some time, like many people, I was under the impression that SEs did not have any genetic issues. It's what I was told. I then began to research those claims and boy was I awakened.

Not only are SEs affected by SCID they also have been found to have CA, LFS, JES and GPT just for starters. While there are only tests for SCID and CA, there is scientific evidence showing LFS, JES and GPT are genetically passed on.

It is no longer a question of purity or blacklisting horses and owners who fully disclose these issues. It is time we all step up, participate in the research and accept that ALL Arabians may have these problems.

I have a support and information group on yahoo. Feel free to join to read our progress and announcements: http://pets.groups.y...m/group/SCIDSE/

I will also be posting lots of information and eventually a database via my homepage www.flyinghoovesfarm.com/SE_genetics.htm

Since this forum is welcoming my presence, I will be making announcements here as well.

I ask you all to please assist me in this huge undertaking in gathering data on Straight Egyptian horses. I am also collecting data on all Arabians and my information is for everyone.

If you have a horse that has be affected by any of the known genetic mutations or if you have had your horses SCID or CA tested please contact me. Your information is 100% confidential unless you grant me permission to use your information.

Any questions? Just ask!!

Thank you
Lisa Tucker
lisa@flinghoovesfarm.com
Lisa Tucker
Flying Hooves Farm

#2 Demelza

Demelza

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,623 posts