11 replies to this topic

#1 wildcat180

wildcat180

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 31 posts

Posted 03 September 2010 - 02:01 PM

I hope I am starting this topic in the right place...

I am looking for book suggestions to help me learn more about Arabians in general (are there books on SEs?), from conformation to pedigree and history. I would also like suggestions on good books to read for information on the various types of showing, but because I realize this alone could turn into a huge list, allow me to be more specific. I'd like books that focus on the types of showing that do not judge on showmanship or equitation. (I am a beginner in terms of riding ability and certainly would not want to be judged on it, but I am confident in my handling on the ground.) I would like to learn more about the in hand type of showing like sport horse in hand and halter. Are there any other types likes those two or are they the main ones?

I know there is little substitute for going to the shows and experiencing them in person, but I have not found one in my area in the near future. So, I'd like to pass the time by reading and getting what I can from those sources.

Thanks!

#2 Ray

Ray

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 5,342 posts
  • Interests:Arabian horses. Breeding Straight Egyptian, Classical Spanish and Golden Cross.

Posted 07 January 2011 - 02:21 AM

Hello Wildcat :umm:

There is a seemingly endless number of books out there. The really good ones were printed in the 1800's to early 1900's, are rare and expensive, assuming they could be found for sale. Samantha of Blue Pyramid Arabians has graciously maintained her list of book titles on her website. You can find that list and some other good info here: http://www.bpeah.com/Library.htm

Online information I find extremely useful is Edouard al-Dahdah's blog, which you will find here: http://daughterofthewind.org/ Within that blog are links to other great information.