Jump to content


Points Calculator For Australian Immigration

  • Please log in to reply
No replies to this topic

#1 nancyrobert2011



  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 13 posts

Posted 30 April 2017 - 05:35 AM

First, you get points for your age:
The basic requirement is that you are under the age of 50, but if you are…
Age 45 – 49 you can apply but you get 0 points for your age.
Age 40 – 44 = 15 points
Age 33 – 39 = 25 points
Age 25 – 32 = 30 points
Age 18 – 24 = 25 points
Update: Some people are unsure about how many points they get for their age, it’s very simple. Example; somebody who is 39 years and 11 months old still falls into the 33 – 39 years category. Only when they turn 40 do they go into the 40 to 44 category.
Command of the English language:
Superior       = 20 points
Proficient     = 10 points
Competent   =  0 points
Your English language skills are assessed using the International English Language Testing System (IELTS) test. There are four parts to this test, speaking, reading, listening and writing. To be superior, you will need to score a minimum of 8 for each. To be proficient, you need to score at least 7 for each part and to be competent you need to score 6 as a minimum for each of the four.
If you hold a passport from the UK, the USA, Ireland, Canada or New Zealand, you automatically qualify as competent, but that still gives you zero points. If you need more points, you will need to sit the test. For other passport holders, even though competent doesn’t score you any points, you still need to take the test toprove your competency to continue.
Please be aware that there are two types of IELTS test; the General test and the Academic test. The general IELTS is the standard English test, and the Academic is required by certain academic or medical/specialist occupations. The test that you take largely depends on what is required by the kind of work that you do and/or the requirement of potential sponsors. 

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users